Thursday, June 04, 2009 - 1:15pm
GRIEF PERSONIFIED

I just came back from Shazard�s home. Phaedra, her boyfriend Ravi and I decided to go and visit his mom. We screwed up the directions and drove all over the place for half an hour before we finally found his house. I was surprised to see that no-one was really there. We walked up the stairs to the porch and there was his mom looking tired, drawn and terribly sad. I kissed her on her cheek and asked her how she was doing. She clasped my hand and started to tell me the tragic and sudden story of his demise.
Apparently, he was out for a run in Palmiste Park and he got a really bad asthma attack and he had to go to the hospital. I dunno who took him there but he died before he could get any treatment.
His mom said that his brother couldn�t �ketch himself� (trini lingo for his brother was still in deep shock)
I went on his Facebook page and a lot of people had already written on his wall. I got the news of his death before any kind of messages really were on his wall, but I really didn�t have the presence of mind to write a message there like everyone else.
He was only 31! Full of passion and vision. He wanted to change the country. Mind you, he wasn�t unrealistic (of course he did mention that he would clone himself and thereby live forever. See he wasn�t unrealistic, just a little bit of a megalomaniac!)
He was brilliant, vibrant but at the same time humble. If ever you heard him speak you�d probably think he was a crazy, pompous bastard, but that couldn�t be further from the truth. I know, I know. You�ve maybe heard someone say about someone else, �yea he may have seemed to be an ass, but really he�s a nice person, you just don�t know him like I do!�. I know we�ve all heard something like that before or some variation thereof, but I bullshit you not when I say, he was a really nice person, humble. Never judgemental. He always had a solution to any problem you came to him with. He made you feel�.he made you feel�.free. Free to be human. Free to make mistakes and not be judged because of them. If you felt like the lowest life-form on the surface of the earth because of some crap you did, some colossal mistake you made, he lifted you up and made you let go of the guilt and stand up proud. Don�t care what people whisper about you. Everyone makes mistakes. But what was his?
I�m trying to understand why he was taken but I just hit a blank each time that I think about it.


prev ./. next