Sunday, Jan. 19, 2014 - 8:07 p.m.
Unexpected

This is bothering me so much that I had to write about it.

So I had an interview last week that went extremely well. It's for the administrator position at a Health & Safety company. They all but said "here! the job is yours!"....They sounded like they want to give me the job and both interviewers were really happy with my resume.They're just checking out my references.

If I get it I'll be starting on the first Monday in February and will have 6 months of probation ending in July and obviously that means i'll have to push back the date for my departure to Canada in April.

I'm not disappointed about not leaving for Canada, but this job came either at the right time or the wrong time. for me i'm looking at it like i'll be making some cash and will be able to save up before I leave. maybe i'll stay on more than the 6 months because this is a permanent position and i've been searching for a permanent job for the longest while.

My duties will be as the office administrator / manager for the business, also setting up health and safety training and sometimes doing the training for clients, marketing the business, doing invoices.....and eventually going out on the field to businesses to conduct health and safety training.

Everyone who's close to me and who knows about this is so excited and happy i'll be staying (for now) in the country.
All except one....

The one person who I thought would be happy for me and excited I got a job, knowing how frustrated I was and depressed.

My boyfriend.

He messaged me that's great when i told him the interview went well. But he hasn't spoken of it since.Except for the conversation we just had.

He asked how long i'd be staying to do the job and when i said well probation is 6 months till july so i'll see how things go, he said- I knew you'd want to stay, remember i told you don't let yourself get in this slump and stay with this job, while he also muttered it's a low-level job and you have a job waiting for you in canada.

I tried explaining that I need to save money to go to canada and this is the perfect opportunity and he said how were you going to canada if you didn't get a job. I said my mother would help me out. But if i have a job obviously that's better and I can save. I said i guess you really want me to go. He said , that's what you took away from this conversation.

Well really I wonder what the fuck else I'm supposed to think?

I know he wants me to get a job that'll make more money but he was neither happy for nor congratulatory to me.

It feels really shitty that everyone except him is happy for me.It sours the whole achievement. I wanted him to be proud of me. I don't really know what to tell him.
I just told him I was tired and wanted to go nap and he asked if i was angry or annoyed with him. I said no.
And I wasn't lying, i'm not angry or annoyed with him.....just really disappointed and hurt that he would act this way.

He's driving back to his apartment in the city tonight and usually i see him off and give him lunch for tomorrow but honestly I just feel like lying in bed, reading A Storm of Swords and going to bed early. When he stops by i feel to just give my bro the food container to pass on to him.

I don't want to cry or rage at him, i just want to be alone right now. I can't believe this though. I mean I don't expect him to throw a celebration party for this (even though my friend Sheena wants to!)But this is so hurtful and unexpected.
prev ./. next