Tuesday, Apr. 06, 2010 - 12:02 a.m.
Kal Ho Na Ho

Listening to:~Meet me at the Equinox~ Death cab for cutie

Today marks the 2 year anniversary of my uncle's death.
His daughter, his son and I went to the cemetary to pray for him.
i guess i'm getting used to the fact that he's gone, because i don't tear up quite as often as i used to when i think of him.

my cousin; his daughter asked me to say a prayer over his grave, adding,"how often do you really come to visit your uncle?"

and really i don't. just how it happened right before he died. i didn't visit him that often, and that, i regret.

I'm reading The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren right now and chapter 16, page 128 says,
"Why is now the best time to express love? Because you don't know how long you will have the opportunity.Circumstances change.People die. Children grow up. You have no guarantee of tomorrow. If you want to express love, you had better do it now."


The words above are known sentiments to me. it's not like i don't understand the concept of Kal Ho Na Ho (Tomorrow may not be). But just seeing those words on paper and expiriencing the loss that i have, it strikes a deeper chord in me than ever before.
it makes me want to live my life with love and acceptance.

The truth is, that it's a struggle to live your life with love. everyday someone may cross your path who ticks you off. family may annoy you. insecurities cause you to lash out at others. Financial troubles may cause your head to ache with worry at night and chase sleep away.
My life is filled with these inconveniences. i want to say little inconveniences, but sometimes they don't seem like it; especially the financial worries.
but we are human and as such, we HAVE to deal with all the curve balls that life throws us. it can be as pain in the ass sometimes, but we HAVE to deal with them.No ifs or buts about that!

But i want to try to deal with life as it comes. I don't want to worry myself crazy and hate un-necessarily. It's a hard thing to do for sure. but i'm trying. i'm trying Big Guy.


prev ./. next