Thursday 25th December, 2008 -
CHRISTMAS

Christmas this year, had an empty feel to it.
This is the first Christmas we had to celebrate without my uncle. Oh how the time marches on.
Every year we have a big family lunch, then lounge about exchanging presents and talking shite till nightfall.
This year was noticeably different. And lonely. And empty. Without him.
Guess we�ll have to get used to that.
Everywhere I look there are reminders of him. Pictures everywhere. That stupid digital picture frame. Constantly changing frames of him. smiling, talking, laughing.
What are we supposed to do without him. I dunno.
I can�t think about it too much now. I feel the tears coming on.

As for presents. I got cash (obviously)
Some very nice pieces of clothes. Perfume (a Victoria secret perfume set)
Books (yay! The complete works of Oscar Wilde � I love it!.
And my crazy best friend bought me Eragon.


Now why in the name of God would I want to read that!!!. The movie was utter shit. So you thought that I would want to read the book did you?! (sigh)

But I gushed and said I always wanted to read it. I�m only on page 134 or something like that. About 700 plus pages to wade through. If you ask me it�s a ripoff. Some strange and demonic melding of Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. This kid Christopher Paolini has no original ideas of his own. Well maybe the Dragon Rider thing but he used LOTR and HP as easy background material for his substandard story. Nevertheless, as an avid reader I will finish this clearly shitty book and dutifully read the sequels, Eldar and Brisingr. Just so I can validate my point that Paolini is a ripoff.

But by far the best present I got was my best friend Nisha coming home for Christmas.


prev ./. next